Florentino Pérez calls Uefa a “monopoly” and the Super League a “savior”

The Super League project continues to arouse enthusiasm. Between supporters and detractors, the new European competition continues to spill ink. For Florentino Pérez, boss of Real Madrid, but also of this controversial Super League, the competition launched by twelve big clubs of the Old Continent aims to “save football” and meet the needs of football fans in terms of football. show.

Pérez, who was the guest of the program El Chiringuito, broadcast on the Spanish channel “Mega”, affirmed that the Super League “is the adequate and necessary response to an economic emergency exacerbated following the losses suffered by the Most of the teams due to the Covid-19 pandemic ”.

For him, “the big European clubs of England, Italy and Spain had to give a solution to face the bad situation which the football is going through, and the only way to make money and to be profitable when you no longer have the ticket office, it is to increase television broadcasts with major matches between major teams ”.

This competition “will save the clubs financially”, continued Perèz, for whom the threats of Uefa to exclude the teams participating in this new competition, are those “of someone who confuses monopoly and property. Madrid will not be excluded from the Champions League, of course not. Neither City, nor anyone else ”.

“UEFA is a monopoly and must be transparent, a forum open to dialogue and not threatening,” he said.

Note that 12 English, Italian and Spanish clubs have announced the creation of a “Super League” reserved for the elite of European clubs. These are AC Milan, Arsenal, Atlético Madrid, Chelsea FC, FC Barcelona, ​​Inter Milan, Juventus, Liverpool, Manchester City, Manchester United, Real Madrid and Tottenham who have united as founding clubs.

READ  Hazard apologizes after laughing with his ex-Chelsea team-mates at the end of the game

According to its initiators, the “Super League” would operate in the form of a regular season between 20 clubs, fifteen of them (“the founding clubs”, the 12 cited and three additional ones yet to be determined) being automatically qualified each time. year and the other five chosen “through a system based on their performance from the previous season”.

Back to top button